• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Giortire

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Hello All,
    I am in the process of a slow build. I think I will go 556/223, but not sure yet. My question is on Bolt Carrier groups. What are some good brands? What makes the "good" brands better than the cheap brands? How important is it to go with a full auto bolt, when I will never shoot full auto.
    I have a couple of bought ARs, and this is my first build, and having a blast learning about this platform.
    Thanks,
    Gio

bkitzel250

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Look for these characteristics: c158 bolt that's mpi/hpt and shot peened, properly staked with grade 8 fasteners, correct extracter spring and insert etc. I'm sure there's a chart if you Google it. But if you want all the mil-spec qualities go with BCM, Daniel defense, LMT, or even one of the PSA premium bcg's. I have a BCM in one of my AR's and quality is top notch. That one gets great reviews also. And last thing an m16 profile slows down the cycle supposedly so I guess if your running a standard carbine buffer you'll get better reliability. Thats all I got I'm sure some of the more experienced guys will chime in.

TennJeep1618

2M 1FTE
    GCGF Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Look for these characteristics: c158 bolt that's mpi/hpt and shot peened, properly staked with grade 8 fasteners, correct extracter spring and insert etc. I'm sure there's a chart if you Google it. But if you want all the mil-spec qualities go with BCM, Daniel defense, LMT, or even one of the PSA premium bcg's. I have a BCM in one of my AR's and quality is top notch. That one gets great reviews also. And last thing an m16 profile slows down the cycle supposedly so I guess if your running a standard carbine buffer you'll get better reliability. Thats all I got I'm sure some of the more experienced guys will chime in.