• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Brandon_SPC

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    So what would y'all recommend? I am new to the AK family and new to the platform. I use Pmags and GI mags for my AR which run flawlessly. I also have used promags in my AR which SUCK!!!! Malfunction every 3-5 rounds! So is there any mag that is better than another for an AK? I just don't want to go out waste money and find out it is a crap mag for the rifle. I appreciate the input.

bfisher1970

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Steel European military surplus work fine for me and should last forever
    Poly mags can get worn at the tab and chewed up if the mag opening on your AK is a bit rough.

moron1

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Like the above post says, you can't go wrong with steel eastern bloc AK mags. Chinese mags are good too;I like the Chinese 30 round flat backs and the Hungarian 20 rounders the best.

Fear21

Master
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Not sure what Magpul were thinking - metal reinforced polymer mags have been the norm for a while now. Not that the current PMags are bad, just sayin.

I'd go with regular old steel mags if it's 7.62. Circle 10 Bulgys are nice as well. If it's 5.45, the Bulgy Circle (10, 21, 25) mags are good stuff. Russian plum magazines worked best for me for 5.45.

bbyrd130

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    As far as the 7.62 I personally prefer the Yugoslavian surplus mags. One of the few that have a bolt hold open after the last round is fired (I think there were one or two others that had it but cannot remember which ones). Yeah, the bolt closes whenever you take the mag out, but at least you don't squeeze one off on an empty chamber.

5.45 the russian and bulgarian ones

Rating - 100%
    50   0   0