• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Jeffashbyjr

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    I'm looking to start hunting, does anyone know where I can get my safety training to get my licsense and where a good place to hunt would be. I am new to this not really wanting trophys, what I really want is meat

Dragonfire21281

Training Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    I don't understand this when somebody wants to learn to hunt how do you do this ,you know when you post saying I want to go fishing show me. people jump on that and take you out fishing so whenever you post I want to go hunting everyone treated like it some big secret why is no 1 willing to take anyone else hunting. I was not raised in household that hunted but I would love to learn to teach my son to hunt and respect land and only take what you need but how do learn it to pass it on?

Jeffashbyjr

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Well I can understand they worked to build up their plot cause they want a big buck and not have to share or give up their secret, I tried fwc and their class is in fort walton

Clay

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    People are inherently protective of their land, secret spots, knowledge, etc.... Posting I want to hunt a few days before hunting season is very poor timing. I taught myself twenty years ago, never grew up with it and eventually you find people ( work, church, civic organizations,etc) that help you along the way. I would start with small game, get a .22 and learn gun safety, how to walk in the woods, to be still, read signs, scout,etc..... shoot rabbits and squirrels and work your way up. I spend hundreds of hours and thousands of dollars each year ensuring I put meat in the freezer and honestly the cost/risk verse reward of taking new folks on, just isn't prudent for me.