• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Bodhi

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Serious question ... I am new to the world of ARs, but not shooting, so if I wanted to put together a kit of parts for my AR in order to keep it serviceable, what would you put in that kit?
    I'm talking about those parts that would be critical to keeping your AR running in the event of prolonged harsh conditions. Springs? Pins? etc. Somebody has to have put together such a kit and marketed it, I'm sure. Interested to hear comments on what (you) people think are these critical parts/components to have on hand should the ..... you know. Take a quick look at your own parts kit and share any wisdom you think you might have so we can all have a discussion. TIA.

G-rat

Sit Violentiam Regem
    Staff member
    Super Moderator
    GCGF Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    61   0   0
    lots of mfgs do like an oops kit or rebuild type kits. i always have a couple of bcg rebuild kits, AR firing pins, springs, detents and other bits to keep them ARs running for a long time. just let the googles be your guide to find stuff...

Bowhntr6pt

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    In my experience over twenty plus years and tens of thousands of rounds between many rifles, I'll say replacement parts are in this order:

1. Gas Rings. They will eventually wear out, but for 95% of the people reading this, it's a non-issue. They will last a heck of a long time. BUT... they are cheap so having a few sets is a good thing.

2. Extractor. As much shooting I've done, I've never had to replace one but they are on the list of "must haves" for any serious repair/maintenance preps.

3. Barrel. After enough shooting to wear out the above mentioned items, a barrel will be close behind.

4. Disconnect. They are about the last item of concern, won't hurt to have an extra one or three.