• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • aknavy

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    I posted a thread awhile back about an AR or AK, and I'm considering an AR. Unfortunately, I decided after Black Friday. I'm new to this world, and not a gunsmith. Suggestions for a good all around rifle that will be reliable and accurate to 200 yards? Only use is going to be range/civil unrest. I'm willing to do a little assembly, but again - not a gunsmith, just fairly handy with a wrench. Also, suggestions for good sources to buy. Thanks.

bkitzel250

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Look at Palmetto State Armory for complete uppers. I suggest their premium/ CHF line (it will be in the description)

Lowers are easy to build with only a few cheap tools. Buy a cheap lower locally or online and buy a lower build kit to complete it ( look at spikes, cmmg, palmetto state, aero precision). Or you can even buy a complete lower at palmetto state and have it shipped to a gun shop to pick up.

Ar15.Com is your friend.

Just stay away from the start up companies that have no reviews. All the brands I listed plus colt, FN, noveske, BCM, are all good brands that have been around for a while.

Last edited:

Jaxon1023

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Look also at radical firearms complete uppers and if you pick up a stripped lower I can help you put it together if you like.

aknavy

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Unfortunately, I'm no longer in Pensacola. If I was, I'd just stalk the for sale threads for a good deal. If I get a complete upper, what does it take to finish the rifle? How much chance is there of screwing the lower up? If I get an upper/bcg separately, what does it take to put them together? Any features/parts to steer clear of? Any "must haves" for an AR?

shootnstarz

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0