• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • SouthBound

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    I've been itching to do this (coyote hunting) for a few years and have picked up a few items over the past couple of years. I have a small electric call and one of those little quiver critter things and some predator attracting spray. I plan on picking up a good long range light for mounting on the rifle and one for scanning around at night (since I don't want to point the rifle at something until I've identified it but I could bend on that).

Has anyone had any/much success locally getting coyotes to respond to calls? I'm in a club over in Seminole and we have coyotes but they are pretty quite. I've heard that you can get a siren and ride around and get them to respond to help pinpoint their dens but I've got a pretty good idea where they are concentrated based on signs (scat and tracks). Every year a few are killed while deer hunting so I want to go out there either in the evenings or at night and see what kind of luck I can have.

I've read a bunch about how they respond to calls and usually enter downwind so I will keep that in mind when setting up. From what I've read, usually 2 hours in one spot is good then move on if they don't respond.

Anyone have any pointers?

Liquid Fun

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    I haven't done it yet but some of my buddies got electric calls for Their camps and say they are great, I do know they have good success during the day and don't hunt at night.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Daezee

Master
    Rating - 100%
    14   0   0
    Sawman hunts them and should see your post; he helped me get my first (and only) yote, a big male with my thermal sight. He has guided hunters for yotes, and knows a lot about them.