• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • PJOHNB

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    I'm new to ar's so first where in P'cola sells Magpul furniture and second what muzzle break would you recommend to counter muzzle rise but at the same time keeping the flash to a minimum. I just want to keep rise and recoil low so I can make fast accurate follow up shots and does changing the buffer to like a spikes tactical st-t2 buffer make any difference. Thanks

ilintner

Retired
    Super Moderator
    GCGF Supporter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Little Jacks Guns on here should have the magpul stuff that you need at a reasonable price, I have also seen it at Mikes ( expensive ), Bass Pro ( expensive ) and Jays ( expensive ).

I haven't encountered any issues with recoil or muzzle rise with standard A2 hiders, I have a POF gun with a brake on it, as well as several guns with AAC brakes / flash hiders and I have found that brakes are LOUD and create a lot of flash. When you are shooting 223 / 556, there really just isn't much recoil to begin with so I think that a brake is sorta unnecessary.

Maybe I am not all that discriminating, but I don't notice a tremendous difference between them recoil wise.

As far as reducing flash, I think that the 3 prong AAC / Vortex hiders are supposed to do a pretty good job, but I don't do a lot of night shooting to know for sure. My only complaint with the AAC hiders in particular is the tuning fork like ping that they produce, I can hear it even with the suppressor on.

I am not familiar enough with AR buffers to know what kind of difference that a buffer will make in shooting characteristics.

Hope I've helped a little.

SAWMAN

Master
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0