• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • pcolagunner

Master
    Rating - 66.7%
    2   1   0
    My question is where does the ATF stand on folding stocks? Can you have one on a rifle provided the barrel is 16" and maintains the proper over all length when unfolded or does it matter? Can you have one on a AR Pistol or if you did would it make it an NFA item? Thanks for any info and or links you can provide.

TennJeep1618

2M 1FTE
    GCGF Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    My question is where does the ATF stand on folding stocks? Can you have one on a rifle provided the barrel is 16" and maintains the proper over all length when unfolded or does it matter? Can you have one on a AR Pistol or if you did would it make it an NFA item? Thanks for any info and or links you can provide.

I'm not a lawyer, but common sense (if there is such a thing when considering NFA laws) tells me that if the gun has a 16" barrel, there is no problem with a folding stock. If the gun has a barrel less than 16" and is not registered as an SBR, it cannot have a stock of any kind, folding or not.

pcolagunner

Master
    Rating - 66.7%
    2   1   0
    I'm not a lawyer, but common sense (if there is such a thing when considering NFA laws) tells me that if the gun has a 16" barrel, there is no problem with a folding stock. If the gun has a barrel less than 16" and is not registered as an SBR, it cannot have a stock of any kind, folding or not.

Be careful with using common since and NFA in the same sentence lol. That's what I was thinking Jeep but hell you never know. I tried looking up the ATF laws and it read like stereo instructions of course. Here is another wrench to throw in the gears. What if you had an under 16" barrel but only a pistol buffer tube, could you fold that since technically it's not a stock?

TennJeep1618

2M 1FTE
    GCGF Supporter