• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Realtor

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Pro's - Con's whats your take. I'm asking because my eyes are getting older and I find it harder and harder to shoot my 9's and 45's. Do the laser i have no experience with laser sights. help me out and tell me your thoughts

Fear21

Master
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Pro's - Con's whats your take. I'm asking because my eyes are getting older and I find it harder and harder to shoot my 9's and 45's. Do the laser i have no experience with laser sights. help me out and tell me your thoughts

Are you using standard sights on your pistols or do you have anything like fiber optics, night sights, etc?

I've shot a couple pistols with Crimson Trace units - once the novelty of pointing a laser wore off, I found it was more of a distraction than anything else, at least for me. They're kind of a pain to zero / adjust and feel weird in the hand if you're used to your pistol's grip already. Don't have any experience with guide rod lasers. I got to try out a TLR-2 light & laser combo (mounted to the pistol rail) once... again, the laser felt like more of a distraction than a tool to me. YMMV with all of this, of course.

Maybe check out some XS Sights if you don't already run them? Here's a quick n easy explanation:

Realtor

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    I have the standard sights on the guns now. my problem is I have cataracts and not sure how long it will take for them to get to the point they can be removed.... I have a appointment next tuesday for them to see and check them out, but, I have a feeling i'm going to be challenged for a while... I can still pretty much guess and hit the target, but its blurry as hell.... (front sight bleeds into the rear sight and target......)

Realtor

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0