• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • TxHunter89

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Hey guys new to the AR scene have friends that have them and liked them and well now I want to build one of my own.

Now I know there's a crazy amount of options and others out there, my intended purpose for my ar will be an all around gun. Home defense, just to shoot, and deer hunting. Mainly deer hunting though. I'm not trying to go crazy expensive just yet, I want to get me a fairly basic but reliable gun for this upcoming season and slowly upgrade it as I go.

The ammo I'm looking into is the .223, or .243, what are some things I can look at to meet my needs if you need further deals please ask as I am a newbie.

Thanks in advance,
    TxHunter89

Sent from my SM-G920T using Tapatalk

Little Jack

Master
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Stby for lots of replies.

First thing. AR15 vs AR10. The .243 is going to be an AR10. Larger, more expensive, slightly fewer options and less commonality than the 15.

More details on where you want hunt, range you plan on shooting, preferred hunting load, how you hunt (stand, walking) budget etc

TxHunter89

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    I live in Texas so will probably be main location of hunting, as far as distance right now plan is no more than 200yrds I do want to have a blind set up but would like to have it set up for any case scenario even if on foot.

As far as budget didn't really want to break the brand wanted to try and stay around the 600 range.

Last edited:

SAWMAN

Master
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    The basics . . . there are two sizes if AR's. Picking which size you will use will dictate what chamberings you CAN pick from.